AccueilContacterPlan du siteLiensRechercherAlbum photos
turismosobrarbe.comComarca de Sobrarbe

The Region

Municipalities and Villages in Sobrarbe


o Inhabitants: 17. The whole municipality counts 222 inhabitants.
o Height above sea level: 1160m.
o Name of its inhabitants: puertolense
o Local Holidays: 12th October, Virgen del Pilar.

The following villages belong to this municipality: Belsierre, Bestué, Bies, Escalona, Escuaín, Huertas de Muro, Muro de Bellós, Puyarruego, Santa Justa, Santa María, Mesón de Puértolas, Hospital de Puértolas and Labarona.

Puértolas is settled at the confluence of the Aso, Bellós and Yaga Rivers, in the Cinca Valley. In the background, we can see Las Tres Sorores summit.

The houses are scattered around, only by the church, the tower and the spring, houses gather together.

The 16th century Aragonese-Gothic church is devoted to St. Vincent, and it stands up on the highest point. It has a wide nave, star vaulted, with four bays ending in a polygonal apse, groin vaulted with pointed arches. The doorway opens on the southern front, with bar pilasters shaped as archivolts. The date 1597 has been carved into the keystone. The tower stands on the north front. It has three levels, the first one has cyclopean beads. The pulpit has a high artistic value.

A 16th century house is specially outstanding, with a beautiful facade with an opening , dated 1589.

The 15th century defensive tower is known as "La Cárcel". Its upper floors have collapsed, but it still preserves two levels with stoned vaults. The linteled door rests on cantilever beams. Over the door, we find remains of a machicolation and several loopholes.

Westwards, where a Romanesque church is supposed to have been built, we find its remains. It belonged to the monastery where St. Justa and St. Rufina dwellt, joining St. Victorian's Monastery in 1090, according to the order of King Sancho Ramírez.